2017 Election

November 7, 2017 Election

           There will be five of the ten seats on Lakewood City Council up for election.  Of the five, two seats are held by incumbents running for re-election.  Three of the five seats are open, meaning the incumbent is term-limited or not running.  For more information on the candidates and other election information the best source of local news is www.lakewoodpols.org.  

The candidates favoring smart managed growth are listed in italics.

Break-down by ward:

Ward 1 – currently held by Ramey Johnson running for a second term.  Her website is http://www.RameyJohnson.com

         Challengers are

          Kyra deGruy – yoga instructor

         Jeslin Schanrezaei – nonprofit employee

Ward 2 – open seat, incumbent Scott Koop is term-limited.

         Trish Merkel – President of O’Kane neighborhood group

         Jacob Bruce LaBure – Denver city employee

         Charles Kenneth Davis

Ward 3 – incumbent Shakti is NOT running for re-election.

         Michael Bieda – local attorney, former judge

              Website –  http://www.biedaforlakewood.com

              Facebook http://www.facebook.com/public/Michael-Bieda

          Michael Gifford – heads state lobbying group for contractors

Ward 4 – open seat, incumbent David Wiechman is term-limited.

          David Skilling – local attorney

                    Website – http://www.skilling4lakewood.com

          Jon Ludwigson – government auditor

          Ladawn Sperling – local realtor

Ward 5 – incumbent Karen Harrison is running for a second term

         Challenger is Nancy Pallozzi – small business owner

                 Website –  http://www.nancypallozzi.com